Turkeys in Mt. Auburn Cemetery – Watertown, MA

I’ve been meaning to check out Mt. Auburn Cemetery for a while now so when my husband and I realized that we would be staying at a friends house nearby on Saturday night, we knew that we just had to plan a trip to walk around the cemetery on Sunday morning.  We suggested it to our friends as a nice morning stroll and they all agreed – apparently they are into Pokemon Go and thought that there might be some fun Pokestops there (lol).

The cemetery was every bit as gorgeous as their website had lead me to believe – designed from the beginning to be a Garden Cemetery, it is full or rolling hills and beautiful foliage as well as the most beautiful headstones I’ve seen.  Camera in hand, I set off in search of some cool Angels or maybe a Madonna or two and found….turkeys?

turkey 1

When I found this guy (really folks, I have no idea how to sex turkeys), he was wandering around among some headstones.  I grew up in the woods of Western Mass so wild turkeys are nothing new to me but I didn’t expect to find them in the middle of an urban cemetery right outside of Boston!

I realized that he was calling out to another bird and saw his/her mate in a bush nearby.

turkey 2.png

They were talking back and forth, seeming not at all that concerned that I was photographing the two of them.  But why didn’t they want to move on?  Most bird don’t hang out around people for that long without a reason.  I soon figured out why.

turkey 3 web.png

Their little one was hiding underneath a nearby tree!

There was a red tailed hawk hunting in the cemetery that we’d been watching earlier, we think that Mom and Dad turkey had stashed their baby under the tree to keep it out of sight of the predator.  In fact, I watched the bigger of the two adults charge at something out of my sight which I can only assume was the hawk returning.

turkey 5 web

The hawk certainly wasn’t having anything to do with me and the turkeys seemed to realize it.  They even moved the baby closer to us after the hawk appeared for the second time.

turkey 6 web

The baby hiding underneath its parent’s tail.

turkey  4 web.png

Finally I had to say goodbye to the little guy (who was, perhaps unsurprisingly, WAY cuter than either of his parents) and move on with my exploration of the cemetery grounds.  But I won’t soon forget him!

Leave a Reply

