Aiken-Rhett House – Charleston, SC

Still re-visiting my trip to Charleston early this year – this time our trip to the Aiken-Rhett House.  This is a really unique historical house that exists almost unaltered since the Antebellum period in the South.   I was in vintage photography heaven.

chandelier 2.png

So many people spend all of their time trying to make their photographs “look” vintage – there’s a whole industry of people selling Photoshop Actions to help you age you images. I’m not into that as much, I like to represent a scene as it was (especially in my travel photography) – BUT what I do love is finding real vintage things to take photographs of.  Like this chandelier – no editing needed.

family portraiture.png

This is a portrait of my family checking out a portrait.  A bit post modern, but I like it that way.   I probably wouldn’t have checked out the house if my brother and sister-in-law hadn’t suggested it, but it was definitely worth checking out.  And this portrait was absolutely gorgeous – and check out the chandelier!

Hauntings.jpg

I call this photograph “Hauntings” – it was definitely my shot of the day.  Everything – the old dappled mirror, the harp, the aged wall…I was instantly in love with the room. And I think that it shows.  I also see the creepy girl from The Ring crawling out of the mirror one of the days and you know what?  I think that I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

