Magnolia Plantation & Gardens – Charleston, SC

I have gotten really behind with this blog – that happens to the best of us, right?   I’m not sure why I stopped writing here really.  I’d guess that in the juggling of so many social media platforms to represent my business, my blog (arguably the most important) fell through the cracks.  I am not even sure where to start to catch up, but Charleston seems as good a place as any.

Travel is always relevant.

My parents rented a house on Seabrook Island in South Carolina for two months this Winter and as a Christmas present flew the whole family down to visit.  It was an amazing experience – other than a trip to New Orleans a few years ago, I’d never been farther South than Arlington Cemetery.  My husband and I were excited to eat the great Low Country food that we had read so much about and I (of course) couldn’t wait to find out what photo adventures the week would bring.

As it was the second week in February, we were very out of season for a lot of the photographic beauty in and around Charleston but I wasn’t going to let that stop me. We spent most of the first day at the Magnolia Plantation & Gardens.  This is an old English styled “Romantic Garden” built on the grounds of an old rice plantation – a beautiful walk through the woods over old white washed bridges and black water swamp.

swamp-1

As well as being a gorgeous environment that feels so foreign in comparison to my New England home, it was full of flora and fauna that I’d never encountered before.  The Plantation had a cute “petting zoo” full of peacocks that were super friendly if they thought that you might share your lunch with them.

peacock 2 for web.jpg

And the birds!  So many different types!  This egret was fishing for minnows in shallow water and was completely unconcerned that I stopped to take its picture.

bird-2

The later Winter flowers were nothing to scoff at either.  Though in comparison to the photos from online there was very little blooming (I might have to go back some Spring down the road), there were still some gems if you looked.

pink-flower.jpg

I’ve gotten pretty good at flower identification in Massachusetts so it was great to see a lot of types that I had never encountered before!  This one in particular caught my eye (bonus points if you identify it for me):

flower.jpg

And the statues!  The garden was full of statues that were all pitted from weathering the humid South Carolina Summers!  It is really interesting to see how different they look from their Northern brethren.

left-statue

right-statue.jpg

And I can’t end this without talking about the Live Oaks – they had such an amazing feeling of power to them – I couldn’t stop photographing!

live-oak-1.jpg

Even out of season, it was a lovely walk and very worth it.  Though it did take MUCH longer than the brochure said that it would – perhaps because I stopped so often to photograph.

 

Leave a Reply

