The Light of His Life

As a female photographer, the general public seems to assume that my goal in life is to shoot weddings and newborns.  That’s not me – I don’t want to capture the “high points” in life because somebody else – and probably a good 10 somebody else’s – are already doing that.  I’m interested in the in-between moments – the every day miracles and moments of beauty. But if I’m at my brother’s wedding on a gorgeous October day with beautiful foliage and insane late afternoon light – I’m going to shot that, too.

Even then, I didn’t go in for the close up portrait – in fact, I put my 100mm lens away and that’s something that I almost never do.  All of the guests are probably doing that, too – that look on my brother’s face WAS priceless when he saw his bride walking down the aisle – but I want what nobody else is getting.  And for me, that was light.  From my spot in the front row on the groom’s side, I was just barely off centered to the ceremony itself, but it gave me something else – a near perfect shot of the bride as she glowed in the afternoon sunlight.   I could have brightened the shadow, but that’s what the wedding photographers are for.  Rather than run from the light, I focused on it.

©2015 Megan Campbell
©2015 Megan Campbell
©2015 Megan Campbell
©2015 Megan Campbell
Leave a Reply

