The Lilac Diaries, 2015

It started out as a joke, I posted on Facebook that I wanted to photograph the same lilac bush every day until my birthday. But minutes later after I had typed #lilacdiaries, I knew that I had to put my money where my mouth was and follow through on my threat/promise.   It seems simple enough, the lilac bushes are four houses down the street, but this was also the birthday weekend of a big one – 35.  I had a constant flow of people in my house and activities and go beyond birthday celebrations as my 5 year anniversary with my husband two days later.

Still, I went eight straight days of photographing the same bush, taking an average of 25-50 shots in a day.  I’m still enamored with my 100mm macro lens, so a lot are shot very tightly into the subject.  I tried to vary depth of focus and lighting to keep them as different from one another as possible and intentionally ignored how I may have edited past photos when considering the new days shots.

lilacs 2

©2015 Megan Campbell
©2015 Megan Campbell

LILAC-diaries-day-3

lilacs-day-4

lilac-diaries-day-5

lilacs-day-6

lilac-day-7

lilac-day-8

Leave a Reply

