May Lilacs

I’m a May baby and a New Englander, so to me my birthday will always be rhubarb and lilacs.  It has always bothered me that since I moved out of the hill towns where I grew up, the lilac season is often over slightly BEFORE my birthday.   Are you seeing the one upside to this horrendously late Spring that we’ve been having this year?

Two days ago, on venturing out into the wide world that is Easthampton, I encountered a surprise lilac bush in my neighbors front yard.   It looked like this:

lilacs 2
©2015 Megan Campbell

Yesterday the flowers were just beginning to open.

©2015 Megan Campbell
©2015 Megan Campbell

Now if they can hold on for four more days I would be a very, very happy photographer (and May baby.)

2 thoughts on “May Lilacs

Leave a Reply

