Bleeding Heart: Lamprocapnos spectabilis

I feel like the Spring is getting away from me because right now, this very second, it is happening.  All at once.   Last year it happened over two months, this year it’s May and 80 degrees outside with virtually no warning.   I have been trying to catch the magnolia trees before the blossoms die, but showing at a fair in Springfield, MA made that fairly difficult.   I got to see a lot of flowering trees amid the mill city grunge, but didn’t have time to photograph them.   Thankfully, I was able to go outside for a short while and wander around the Cottage St. Cultural District of Easthampton.

Found some beautiful magnolia trees but was most impressed with the Bleeding Hearts that were growing in shaded spot on the side of the road.  My first photograph was meant to be dreamy and reminiscent of a field drawing.

Lamprocapnos spectabilis
Bleeding Heart: Lamprocapnos spectabilis
©2015 Megan Campbell

In my second, I was trying to play with the absurdity of the plant itself.     Here I experiment with color and texture to make it fairy-like, otherworldly.

Bleeding Hearts ©2015 Megan Campbell
Bleeding Hearts
©2015 Megan Campbell
Leave a Reply

