Vintage Tulips – experiments with color and texture

My bulb show adventures continue.   One of the things that I have discovered so far about my new macro lens is that the photographs do not seem to be as saturated as the ones that I have photographed with my kit lens – maybe it’s my imagination, maybe my subjects.

Certainly, the bulb show this year is not as saturated as it has been in the past.  The local college has themed it this year after Monet’s famous paintings and gardens, as such it is awash of pastels.  With a wide open aperture, I was able to create a blurry texture very similar to a painting (fitting for Monet, no?!?) but if anything, it was far, far too smooth.  Some experimentation with texture and color later, and I am very happy with the results.

vintage-tulips-for-web-1
“Vintage Tulips”
©2015 Megan Campbell
f/2.8 1/800 sec. ISO 200
Leave a Reply

