Mexican Sunflower: Tithonia diversifolia

orange mexican sunflower
Late Summer Blossoms Available for Purchase in my Etsy shop

It’s not snowing anymore, but I still feel like I need a summer pick-me-up.  I have been told that this flower is often called the Mexican Sunflower, to me it was merely the bee magnet.  Every time that I went out into the fields at my Farmshare, I knew that even of the most dreary bee-drousy days, I would fine some among these humongous shrubs.   I have since learned that not only is this plant a bee attracter, but it is also a very effect low cost fertilizer for fields that have been stripped of their nutrients.  A win, all around, as I see it.

One thought on “Mexican Sunflower: Tithonia diversifolia

Leave a Reply

