To bee or not to bee…(it is not really a question)

I didn’t start out trying to photograph bees.  To be truthful I didn’t start out trying to photograph flowers really, but when you live in Western Massachusetts and set outside with a camera, photographing flowers is a forgone conclusion.   Once I started photographing flowers, the bees came to me.   Quite literally, they settle in the blossoms that I am trying to shoot.  Call me the bee whisperer if you will.  Today I find myself the unlikely champion of these misunderstood and often mal-aligned creatures. I stick my lens quite literally in their faces (or butts, depending on which direction they are facing) and I have yet to be warned, let alone stung.  And we need these ladies, our agriculture depends on them and their other pollinators.  Plus, as a sometimes vintner, I have to mention that there is no better sugar to brew with than honey.

magnolia and bee
“Bee is for Hope” Contact me to purchase this print.
bumble bee
“Bumblebee Pink” This print is available for purchase in my Etsy shop.
purple and bee
“Bee-utiful” This print is available for purchase in my Etsy shop.
bumble
“Bumble” This print is available for purchase in my Etsy shop.
worker bee
“The Worker Bee: This print is available for purchase in my Etsy shop.
levitating bee
“Red Poppy: Into the Maw” This print is available for purchase in my Etsy shop.
Leave a Reply

